1 Stop Design Build

A full-service design firm, serving all of your design News

DIA announces recipients of 2022 awards

The Design Institute of Australia (DIA) has announced the winners of the Designers Australia Awards and Graduates of the Year Awards for 2022.

The Designers Australia Awards recognized preeminent designers and studios, calling attention to the individuals and their distinguished design processes as much as the outcome. Entries were assessed across three interdisciplinary categories – “place”, “use” and “interact” – and broke away from traditional category distinctions.

The DIA said the awards are an “industry first” in emphasizing the designers and their process as much as the outcome, to recognize the “most nuanced design thinking” across the three categories.

Three national winners were selected from a shortlist of 82 designers along with a president’s award and 45 merit awards. The highest design accolades were awarded to Cobalt Design for the “use” category, Culture as Creative for “interact”, Kennedy Nolan for “place”, and Ros and John Moriarty received the the President’s Award.

Place – category winner

Always ­– Kennedy Nolan

The jury said that this project was identified for its “exemplary approach focusing on sensitive and holistic design methodology that combines the inside and outside seamlessly”. The architects were acknowledged for their “sensitive and reflective” material selection, connecting with landscape, architecture, surrounds and history.

Use – category winner

Cobalt Mag Assist VAD heat pump ­– Cobalt Design

The jury praised this project for its “rigorous, intelligent and valuable interdisciplinary design” and the designers’ exploration of the concept that translated into “life-saving outcomes”. The first of its kind, Cobalt’s device provides blood flow to supplement or replace heart function via surgically inserted inflow and outflow cannulas.

Interact – category winner

Say it Loud – Culture as Creative, Sandra Githinji Studio and Beyond the Built Environment

The Say it Loud exhibition, held in Naarm Melbourne 2022, was recognized for its “circular design approach” informed by investigation, understanding, assessment and interaction. The jury stated the exhibition represented strong cross-disciplinary collaboration through partnerships and society, encouraging design debate and access to vital information.

President’s Award recipient

Ros and John Moriarty, founders of Balarinji, were applauded for their unique approach toward collaboration and inclusivity, respectful design processes, and overall enduring commitment to the profession over the years.

To view the full list of winning recipients and the Awards of Merit, visit the DIA website.

The DIA has announced its Graduates of the Year Awards.

The DIA has announced its Graduates of the Year Awards.


Courtesy of the Design Institute of Australia

The DIA also announced the winners for the Graduates of the Year Awards – its flagship program for recognizing emerging designers. From 181 ambitious nominations and 27 state winners, eight young designers have been awarded the prestigious prize, with one student also named the Madeleine Lester Award recipient.

The jury said this critical program brings together Australia’s best emergent designers and connects them to the most respected educators and designers from leading practices. DIA chief executive Jo-Ann Kellock said this years graduates proposed “human-centred design solutions with a focus on wellbeing”, incorporating natural materials with an emphasis on sustainability.

Madeline Lester Award

Kirsteen James, Queensland University of Technology

Australian Textile Design Graduate of the Year

Emma Daley, North Metropolitan TAFE

Australian Furniture Design Graduate of the Year

Alexei Todd, RMIT University

Australian Fashion Design Graduate of the Year

Maddison Robinson, University of Technology Sydney

Australian Interior Decoration Graduate of the Year

Lauren Coleman, TAFE NSW Design Centre Enmore

Australian Interior Design Graduate of the Year

Kirsteen James, Queensland University of Technology

Australian Jewellery Design Graduate of the Year

Lorissa Toweel, Queensland College of Art Griffith University

Australian Industrial / Product Design Graduate of the Year

Dorcas Chu, UNSW

Australian Visual Communication Design Graduate of the Year

Michael Smith, Swinburne University of Technology

To view the list of winners for state graduates of the year, visit the DIA website.

Source link